Co. Antrim News

Visitors: 27399210

County Antrim
Pool Information
Gary Clarke Crowned Down 8-BALL Open Champion 2017

" NIPPO " ------ Down 8-BALL Open 2017

The second ranking tournament of 2017 / 2018 organised by N.Ireland Pool Players Organisation (NIPPO) recently took place in the beautiful Bannville House Hotel Banbridge with Down 8-BALL Open which seen 8 supreme pool tables hired in for the event.
Once again another congratulations to top player Gary Clarke (Antrim) who claimed his second NIPPO ranking tournament winning back to back events of the new season which sees the Co.Antrim cueist opening up 26 point gap at the top of NIPPO official rankings.

Gary produced another fine performance throughout the tournament topping his group in round format progressing into last-32 in style where he defeated the following players to be crowned Down 8-BALL Open Champion Mark Nugent (Armagh, last-32, 5-0), Nigel Craig (Antrim, last-16, 5-1), Richie Comiskey (Armagh, 1/4-finals, 5-4), Carl Martin (Tyrone, semi-finals, 6-4) before overcoming the challenge from Gerard Heaney (Antrim) in an great entertaining final to claim a 7-5 victory.

NIPPO would like to thank Down Pool Association and Bannville House Hotel for putting on a great tournament and providing a superb venue. ............SPECIAL THANKS most go to Kieran Mallon for all his hard work as Down Rep who was the driving force behind this event.

Gary Clarke 5-0 Mark Nugent
Nigel Craig 5-2 Michael Ward
Alan McKibben 5-0 Gary Davidson
Richie Comiskey 5-2 Thomas McCann
Chris Beattie 5-0 Brian Curtis
Stephen Graham 5-0 Wayne Lewis
Manny Byrne 5-0 Sean Corrigan
Carl Martin 5-0 Gavin Armstrong
Niall Sweeney 5-1 Gavin Patton
Owenie McMenamin 5-0 Shane Mulligan
Ricky Clyde 5-3 Mark Howe
Gerard Heaney 5-4 Kieran Mallon
Andy Park 5-1 Piotr Samulewicz
Johnny White 5-3 Gary McMenamin
Paul Kelly 5-0 Suzanne Randle
Barry Cunningham 5-2 Malachy McParland

Gary Clarke 5-1 Nigel Craig
Richie Comiskey 5-0 Alan McKibben
Chris Beattie 5-3 Sean Graham
Carl Martin 5-0 Manny Byrne
Niall Sweeney 5-1 Owenie McMenamin
Gerard Heaney 5-2 Ricky Clyde
Andy Park 5-2 Johnny White
Paul Kelly 5-4 Barry Cunningham

Gary Clarke 5-4 Richie Comiskey
Carl Martin 5-3 Chris Beattie
Gerard Heaney 5-4 Niall Sweeney
Paul Kelly 5-3 Andy Park

Gary Clarke 6-4 Carl Martin
Gerard Heaney 6-2 Paul Kelly

Gary Clarke 7-5 Gerard Heaney
Copyright 2008 Ronnie Boyle.   Website Design: Gareth Deegan