Co. Armagh News

Visitors: 26360891

County Armagh
Pool Information
Richard Comiskey Crowned 2010 Northwest Open 8-Ball Champion

Richard Comiskey (Armagh) became the third winner of the annual Northwest Open 8-Ball Pool Championships organised each year by Ireland’s 32 County 8-Ball Pool Tour with the 2010 event taking place on Saturday past (12th June) at the beautiful Arena 7 venue in Letterkenny Co. Donegal........

Richard who comes from Keady in the Armagh County played outstanding pool throughout the tournament to claim the 2010 title and go down on the roll of honours list alongside former champions Alan Mc Bennett (Cavan, 2008) and John Mc Mahon (Cavan, 2009)......

The new playing handicap system which has been introduced this year by Ireland’s 32 County 8-Ball Pool Tour seems to be working very well with each tournament producing different champions on the 2010 tour with the Co. Armagh cueist being the recent tournament winner.......

Richard went into the Northwest championships as the number three seed and played fantastic pool throughout the tournament recording victories from the last-32 over Philem Mc Clafferty (Donegal, last-32, 7-1), John Gallagher (Donegal, last-16, 7-4), Conrad Mc Cann (Tyrone, ¼-Finals, 7-4), Michelle Rooney (Fermanagh, semi-finals, 7-6) and rounded of the tournament with a superb performance against Padraig Flanagan (Tyrone) in the final on a 7-5 score-line to be crowned 2010 Northwest Open 8-Ball Champion.......

The highlight from the 2010 Northwest Open 8-Ball Championships must go Michelle Rooney from Co. Fermanagh who played fabulous pool in these annual championships to become the first lady player to reach a semi-final of a open tournament on Ireland’s 32 County 8-Ball Pool Tour.........

This fantastic lady player reached the semi-finals by recording victories over Cathal Donnelly (Tyrone, last-32, 5-0), Geoff Hadrill (Sligo, last-16, 5-3), Reiner Wagner (South Africa, ¼-finals, 7-3) before losing to the outright winner Richard Comiskey in the semi-final on a last game decider 7-6, but all in all a brilliant performance from Michelle........

2008: Alan Mc Bennett (Cavan)
2009: John Mc Mahon (Cavan)
2010: Richard Comiskey (Armagh)

All open handicap tournaments on Ireland’s 32 County 8-Ball Pool Tour will be best of 9 (first to 5) if both players are on the same playing handicap…………….if the playing handicap is used in any tournament fixture the match becomes best of 13 (first to 7)........

Mark Nugent 7-4 Sean Sharkey
Padraig Sharkey 5-0 Michael O’ Hara
Padraig Flannigan 7-5 Brian Sheridan
Nathan Todd 5-3 Paul Rennicks
Daryl Beattie 7-1 Osin Mc Brearty
Tony Mulhern 7-6 Ronnie Boyle
Chris Dolan 7-3 Hugh Mc Dermott
Paul Corrigan 5-1 Brian Doherty
Richard Comoskey 7-1 Philem Mc Clafferty
John Gallagher 5-2 Chris Mc Geehan
Conrad McCann 7-2 Bobby Mc Dermott
Colette Hendrilison 7-2 Sean Mc Veigh
Geoff Hadrill 7-6 Cathal Mc Erlean
Michelle Rooney 5-0 Cathal Donnelly
Mark Moore 5-3 Benny Hamilton
Reiner Wagner 5-0 Niall Mc Menamin

Mark Nugent 7-3 Padraig Sharkey
Padraig Flannigan 7-5 Nathan Todd
Daryl Beattie 7-5 Tony Mulhern
Paul Corrigan 7-5 Chris Dolan
Richard Comiskey 7-4 John Gallagher
Conrad McCann 7-6 Colette Hendrilison
Michelle Rooney 5-3 Geoff Hadrill
Reiner Wagner 7-3 Mark Moore

Padraig Flannigan 7-5 Mark Nugent
Daryl Beattie 5-3 Paul Corrigan
Richard Comiskey 7-4 Conrad McCann
Michelle Rooney 7-3 Reiner Wagner

Padraig Flannigan 5-1 Daryl Beattie
Richard Comiskey 7-6 Michelle Rooney

Richard Comiskey 7-5 Padraig Flannigan

NOTE:-----please click on the Co. Armagh link on the left-hand-side to view more cue-sport news and photos...........

Saturday 24th: Co. Down Open 8-Ball Championships
Sunday 25th: N. Ireland Over 40’s 8-Ball Championships
Copyright © 2008 Ronnie Boyle.   Website Design: Gareth Deegan